My Summer Reading List

Ever since my mom presented a huge box filled with 100+ of her childhood novels to me when I was a toddler, I have always loved reading. However, when I’m in college I always found myself busy doing other things that I barely have any time to read – which is a shame! When summer came around, I promised myself to read as many books as I can. I usually read mostly fiction (especially fantasy fiction), but right now I’m trying to widen my scope by picking up some “heavier” literature and some professional books.

Here’s my LONG list for the summer, which I probably won’t be able to finish (ones that I’ve read will be crossed off):

FICTION

  • Kafka on the Shore – Haruki Murakami
  • 1Q84 – Haruki Murakami
  • South of the Border, West of the Sun – Haruki Murakami
  • Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki – Haruki Murakami
  • Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami
  • The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho
  • To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  • A Discovery of Witches – Deborah Harkness
  • Brain on Fire – Susannah Cahalan
  • Lord of Shadows – Cassandra Clare
  • The Bane Chronicles – Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson & Sarah Rees Brennan
  • Beautiful Creatures – Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  • Beautiful Darkness – Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
  • The 100 Year Old Man who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson (in progress)
  • A Tale of  Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  • The Dark Prophecy – Rick Riordan

PROFESSIONAL/PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT

  • The Investment Checklist – Michael Shearn
  • The Little Book that Beats the Market – Joel Greenblatt
  • The Lean Startup – Eric Ries
  • Shoe Dog – Phil Knight
  • Beating the Street – Peter Lynch
  • How to Win Friends and Influence People – Dale Carnegie
  • Money: Master the Game – Anthony Robbins (in progress)
  • Elon Musk: How the Billionare CEO of SpaceX and Tesla is Shaping Our Future – Ashlee Vance
  • Big Bang Disruption – Larry Downes and Paul Nunes
  • From Zero to One – Peter Thiel & Blake Masters 

Any book suggestions are welcome!

 

Leave a comment